Our awards recognise excellence in public finance and accountancy.

They reward practitioners at every level, from those starting out in their career to those innovating and leading the profession. They also acknowledge the personal contributions of our volunteers, who help to support members and students wherever they reside. Find out about our student prizes.

Find out how to nominate someone for a CIPFA award below.

Cliff Nicholson Award

Cliff Nicholson Award flyerAwarded for: Innovation and excellence in public service auditing.
How to Enter: Cliff Nicholson Award 2014 Flyer.
Deadline for nominations: 8 March 2014.
Established by: Cliff Nicholson CBE, President in 1990.
Awarded at: The Annual Audit Conference dinner.
The prize: A beautiful cut glass crystal bowl and certificate.
Contact: Matthew Allen (T: +44 (0)20 7543 5680, E:

Dr Hedley Marshall CBE Memorial Award

Awarded for: an outstanding contribution to regional activities.
Established for: Dr Hedley Marshall, Institute President in 1953.
Awarded at: Conference for the Regions.
Contact: Dee Noonan (E:

Sir Harry Page Merit Award

Sir Harry Page Award 2013 coverAwarded for: an outstanding piece of work in the field of public service accounting and financial management (awarded to an individual or group).
Deadline for nominations: 2014 Award nominations close on 9 May 2014.
Established by: Sir Harry Page, President in 1968. First presented in 1969.
Awarded at: the CIPFA annual conference.
The prize: The Sir Harry Page Merit Award trophy.
Contact: Julian Smith (T: +44 (0)20 7543 5795, E:

Tom Sowerby Award

Tom Sowerby Awards brochure front coverAwarded for: outstanding service to CIPFA students
Deadline for nominations: Friday 28 March 2014.
Established by: Tom Sowerby, President from 1973 to 1974.
Awarded at:
The National Student Forum Annual conference.
The prize:
Tom Sowerby trophy (for the year) and a commemorative engraved salver.
Contact: Adrian Pulham (E: