About the chair's forum

The Chairs' Forum is an influential group of chairpersons of public bodies in Northern Ireland with over 40 members.

The Chairs Forum is a member-led, exclusive information sharing and networking resource for chairs of public bodies. It has also established strong links with chairs of public, state owned and semi-state owned bodies in Ireland and with the Public Chairs’ Forum in London, since its formation in 2005.

Membership of the Chairs’ Forum is by annual subscription and is only open to chairpersons of public bodies in Northern Ireland who have come through a public appointments process.  This includes bodies where the chairperson is elected by its membership.

Through an innovative partnership, the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) provides professional support for the Chairs’ Forum. CIPFA advises the Forum on key governance and related issues affecting public bodies, provides secretariat support and organises the annual programme of member events.

See some useful downloads at the bottom of this page.

Key member benefits

  • free attendance at the annual programme of event
  • opportunities to meet and establish relationships with other chairs – providing a strong informal network
  • being able to compare experiences and share problems in a secure and confidential environment
  • discussion of issues of major significance with peers.

Other Board members/staff in your organisation will have the opportunity to attend governance events at discounted prices

Chairs' Forum governance

The Forum is governed by a General committee, elected by members at the Annual General Meeting. The current Committee is:

  1. Paul Archer, Chairperson
  2. Colm McKenna, Vice-Chairperson
  3. Rick Hill, Treasurer
  4. Terence Brannigan, Secretary
  5. Sean Hogan, Committee Member
  6. Gerry McGinn, Committee Member
  7. Brian Rowntree, Committee Member
  8. Trevor Salmon, Committee Member
  9. Brian Henning, Committee Member
  10. Alistair Joynes, Committee Member
  11. Marie Mallon, Committee Member.

Chairs Forum 2014 Conference Report


Download now

Chairs Forum Constitution


Download now