Our awards recognise excellence in public finance and accountancy

CIPFA rewards practitioners at every level, from those starting out in their career to those innovating and leading the profession. We acknowledge the personal contributions of our volunteers, who help to support members and students wherever they reside. We also run a series of awards across a variety of industries, which recognise and reward outstanding work and performance.

Public Finance Innovation Awards

The winners and runners-up of the inaugural Public Finance Innovation Awards were announced on the evening of 20 April 2017. Drawn from across sectors and representing all parts of the UK, the winners reflect the remarkable dedication and inventiveness of those working in public finance and governance to deliver excellence in public services.

The 2017 awards shortlist comprised 85 organisations across 15 awards categories, showcasing the most original and innovative work in public finance and governance across the UK.

A panel of expert judges awarded the honour of a Public Finance Award to 15 winners and organisations, including this year's Grand Prix winner, the Strategic Management Team, Sevenoaks District Council.

On awarding the Grand Prix to Sevenoaks the judges commented: "The financial autonomy Sevenoaks has achieved is impressive. Such autonomy becomes the precursor to fiscal devolution, enabling the organisation to achieve its objectives for the local area. This excellent example of innovation illustrates the wholesale change of the financial model, risk appetite and culture of the organisation."

Congratulations to all the 2017 awards winners and to all our shortlisted organisations. Further information on this year's winners and the awards is available on the Public Finance Innovation Awards website.

Government Counter Fraud Awards

The Government Counter Fraud Awards celebrate the exceptional work being done to protect public funds in the UK. There are eight Award categories designed to showcase a broad range of counter fraud and anti-corruption cases, initiatives and projects.

Launched in 2016, the Awards are hosted by the CIPFA Counter Fraud Centre, the National Crime Agency (NCA), Cabinet Office and City of London Police and build on the success and prestige of the Fighting Fraud Awards.

Visit the website to find out more.

Tom Sowerby Award

The Tom Sowerby Award is presented each year for outstanding service to CIPFA students. It was established by Tom Sowerby, president of CIPFA from 1973 to 1974.  

We welcome nominations from and for anyone who has given service to CIPFA students. In practice, this means that candidates are usually CIPFA members, but you don’t have to be a CIPFA member to receive the award. 

Nominations need to be made on the official nomination form, and should clearly indicate how the nominee has met or meets the criteria of the award.

Nomination forms are collated and assessed by a judging panel, who choose the winner from the range of nominations. Results are solely based on the content of a full and detailed nomination form.

The Tom Sowerby Award is a high honour. The winner is invited as a guest to the CIPFA Annual Student Conference, on 12 July 2017 (part of the CIPFA Annual Conference in Manchester), and will be presented the Award by the CIPFA President.

The Tom Sowerby Award is an excellent way to give your colleagues, mentors, or tutors the recognition they deserve.  

To find out more information and to enter the award please download the nomination form and when completed, email to:

Dr Hedley Marshall CBE Memorial Award

Awarded for: an outstanding contribution to regional activities.
Established for: Dr Hedley Marshall, Institute President in 1953.
Awarded at: Conference for the Regions.
Contact E: