Society of District Council Treasurers

Society of District Council Treasurers

The Society was formed in 1974 and represents the 192 district council finance functions in England and Wales. On receipt of membership, each Council’s Section 151 Officer is eligible to become a member of the Society.


President - Simone Hines

Vice President - Mark Dickenson

Treasurer - Jenny Poole

Secretary - Angela George

View full executive >

Our vision

Our principal aim is to represent the interests of district council finance on a national level. We do that through the activities of the Executive Committee, who act as advisors on various different areas. A list of the officers and their areas of responsibility can be found in the officers' area.

In addition to this representation, membership involves publication of the minutes of Executive Committee meetings, as well as attendance at two general meetings per annum, one at CIPFA conference and one in December.

The Society is also represented on the Association of Local Authority Treasurers, which collectively represents the professional interests of treasurers in all types of local government.