Our awards recognise excellence in public finance and accountancy

CIPFA rewards practitioners at every level, from those starting out in their career to those innovating and leading the profession. We acknowledge the personal contributions of our volunteers, who help to support members and students wherever they reside. We also run a series of awards across a variety of industries, which recognise and reward outstanding work and performance.

Public Finance Innovation Awards

Taking place in 2017, these awards highlight and recognise innovative work carried out in public finance and governance. They award the people, products and services that demonstrate excellence and originality within public finance. Nominations for the 2017 Awards are now closed in readiness for the awards ceremony and gala dinner on Thursday 20 April at the Grange St Paul’s Hotel in London. Bookings available online.

Government Counter Fraud Awards

The Government Counter Fraud Awards aim to recognise top performing individuals in counter fraud whose significant efforts in detection, prevention and recovery have helped to bridge to gaps in the industry. This inaugural event is supported by the CIPFA Counter Fraud Centre, the Cabinet Office and the National Crime Agency in 2016. 
Visit the website

Dr Hedley Marshall CBE Memorial Award

Awarded for: an outstanding contribution to regional activities.
Established for: Dr Hedley Marshall, Institute President in 1953.
Awarded at: Conference for the Regions.
Contact E:

Tom Sowerby Award

Awarded for: outstanding service to CIPFA students
Established by: Tom Sowerby, President from 1973 to 1974.
Awarded at:
The National Student Forum Annual conference.
The prize:
Tom Sowerby trophy (for the year) and a commemorative engraved salver.
Contact: Jacqueline Durban, T: +44 (0)20 7543 5795, E: