CIPFA practice oversight panel

Approved by the CIPFA Board and CIPFA Council, the Practice Oversight Panel was established to consider possible developing areas of concern in current practice, raising awareness of potential risks to both institute and sector. The panel will also provide governance oversight for SMB. This panel does not form part of the formal disciplinary mechanism of the institute.

The Practice Oversight Panel comprises of up to eight members with sufficient expertise and experience to advise on decisions about professional conduct and best practice. The Chair of SMB and Chair of the CIPFA Student Network shall be ex-officio members of the committee.

The Practice Oversight Panel is chaired by Aileen Murphie, recently retired Director at the National Audit Office.

Further members include

  • Nikki Bishop, retired local authority 151 officer
  • Jaki Meekings Davis, past President
  • Dr Helen Wright, independent member of SMB
  • Sir Tony Redmond, past President

The Chief Executive and the Director of Policy and Membership will be invited to attend panel meetings and Jon Roberts, partner Grant Thornton, Suresh Patel, partner Mazars and representative from DLUHC will attend as observers.