CIPFA members receive accolades in 2024 New Year Honours

The New Year Honours list for 2024 recognises the achievements and service of people in public life across the UK – those who have committed themselves to serving and helping our nation.

We are proud to announce that 16 CIPFA members have been awarded honours in 2024. A huge congratulations to all from the Institute.

Pauline Howie CBE, lately Chief Executive of the Scottish Ambulance Service, for services to emergency healthcare.

Lynn Pamment CBE, Chair of the Financial Reporting Advisory Board (FRAB), for public service.

Norman Macdonald OBE, lately local councillor for Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, for services to the communities of Uig, Isle of Lewis and the Western Isles.

Dr Nicholas Merriman OBE, Chief Executive of The Horniman Museum and Gardens, for services to the arts and to heritage.

Sara Tough OBE, Executive Director of Children’s Services at Norfolk County Council, for services to education and children’s social care.

Paul Arnold MBE, Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer at Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO), for services to regulation and equality, diversity and inclusion.

Alan Collier MBE, Director of Procurement and Sustainability at Norfolk County Council, for services to local government.

Neil Greenwood MBE, Executive Director of Finance and Corporate Services at the Natural History Museum, for services to museums.

Thomas Jenkins MBE, for services to the forestry sector.

The Reverend Derek Johnston MBE, Lead Chaplain at Belfast Health and Social Care Trust, for services to chaplaincy and wellbeing during COVID-19.

Ian Jones MBE, for services to education in Merseyside.

Louise Long MBE, Chief Executive of Inverclyde Council, for services to local government and to the community in Inverclyde, Renfrewshire.

Andrew Pollock MBE, Founder of CLEVR Money, for services to financial inclusion.

Phillip Potter MBE, Regional Lead at West Midlands, Wales and South West, UK Export Finance, for services to business and to the community in Worcestershire.

Alexandra Vincent MBE, lately Chief Operating Officer at the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), for services to research funding.

Dennis Brown BEM (British Empire Medal), for services to the community in Runnymede, Surrey.