Responding to COVID-19: insight, support and guidance

Qualification structure

A new structure offering clear progression

Under the updated syllabus, there are now four qualifications that lead to the CIPFA PAQ and the Chartered Public Finance Accountant (CPFA) designation: a certificate and three diplomas. These are the equivalent to undergraduate through postgraduate study.

CIPFA Certificate in Management and Financial Accounting
Management Accounting  
Financial Accounting
CIPFA Diploma in Financial Management and Audit
Audit and Assurance
Business Planning and Financial Management
Developing Strategy and Data Analysis
CIPFA Diploma in Governance, Risk and Taxation
Business Reporting
Governance and Risk Management
Tax and Law (UK and International)
CIPFA Diploma in Public Financial Management, Reporting and Business Change
Implementing Business and Change
Strategic Public Financial Management
Public Sector Financial Reporting (UK and International)
Strategic Case Study


Find out more

If you have any questions about the introduction of the new syllabus, please contact us at