Responding to COVID-19: insight, support and guidance

Our speakers

CIPFA Scotland’s Public Finance Conference 2022

Martin Booth, Chair, CIPFA Scotland

Martin BoothMartin is Executive Director of Finance at Glasgow City Council and has been in post since May 2018, after spending eight years as Director of Finance and Corporate Services at Glasgow Life. Prior to this Martin worked for COSLA where he led on negotiations with the Scottish Government over financial settlements and drafted the Concordat.

Martin was previously Managing Director of Isoplan and also worked in management consultancy for IBM and PWC. Martin started his career as a trainee accountant with Glasgow District Council and worked for a number of local authorities before being part of the Senior Management Team that opened HMP Kilmarnock. Outside of work Martin is a keen golfer, having served as Captain of Whitecraigs Golf Club, and is also a Rugby referee.

Alice Beveridge, Director, Inspirational Speaker and Positive Psychologist

Photo of Alice BeveridgeAlice is a truly unique speaker.

Psychologist, teacher, director and coach, she brings a wealth of knowledge, personal experience and energy to everything she delivers. Alice is an expert in all things wellbeing, mindset and leadership. As a positive psychologist she challenges the way people see themselves. She has a true passion for helping people realise that they are in control of their lives and by introducing people to a range of positive psychology theories and interventions, through fun and laughter,  Alice helps them ignite their spark.

Mike Driver, President, CIPFA

Photo of CIPFA's President, Mike DriverMike joined the Department of Health & Social Security in 1979 straight from school, and spent his first 6 years in the Civil Service delivering services to customers. He then moved into regional management and thereafter fulfilled a range of policy and finance roles.

He is a CIPFA qualified accountant, and has held a variety of FD roles, both corporate and operational. He was promoted to Chief Financial Officer (CFO) at the Department for Work & Pensions in 2012. From 1 April 2016, he was appointed the CFO for the Ministry of Justice (MoJ) and from July 2017 to August 2020 Mike was Head of the Government Finance Function, HM Treasury, driving forward the agenda to substantially strengthen the finance function’s critical role at the heart of government, ensuring better political and business outcomes.

Liz McAreavey, Chief Executive, Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce

Photo of Liz Mcareavey, Chief Executive of the Edinburgh Chamber of CommerceLiz was appointed CEO of Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce in 2016 following 6 years in various senior roles at the Chamber. Liz sits on a range of civic boards in the city including The Edinburgh City Vision Steering Group, The Festivals Forum, The Edinburgh Development Forum, The Strategic Implementation Group and the Economic Advisory Panel. She also chairs the Just Economic Transition Group.

Jeff Matsu, Chief Economist, CIPFA

Photo of CIPFA's Chief Economist, Jeffrey MatsuJeff has extensive experience in connecting policy with practice through evidence-based research, he works with partner governments, accountancy bodies and the public sector around the world to advance public finance and support better public services.

Previously, Jeff was responsible for market analysis and thought leadership at the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and co-led the economy theme at the UK Collaborative Centre for Housing Evidence.

He was also a senior economist at Morgan Stanley and served on the research staff at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington DC.

Diana Melville, Network Advisor, CIPFA

Photo of CIPFA Network Advisor, Diana MelvilleDiana is the lead advisor for the Better Governance Forum and is CIPFA's representative on the Internal Audit Standards Advisory Board. She is a CIPFA-qualified accountant, and regularly provides advice and training on the application of good governance in practice and annual governance statements. She authored the 2018 edition of Audit Committees: Practical Guidance for Local Authorities and Police, and was part of the working group that developed the Good Governance Framework for Local Government.

Richard Lloyd-Bithell, Senior Technical Manager, CIPFA

Photos of Richard Lloyd-Bithell, Senior Technical Manager at CIPFARichard is senior technical manager within CIPFA’s Public Financial Management directorate, leading on public sector policy, standards and guidance, both in the UK and internationally. Richard has over nine years of public and private sector experience and formerly worked as a lead advisor on treasury management and pensions for CIPFA. He also worked in local government as a principal accountant, managing a treasury and technical accounting team, before joining CIPFA in 2019.