Responding to COVID-19: insight, support and guidance

Investigations committee

Current members of the investigations committee

Chris Archer CPFA

Chris has worked in local government finance for four local authorities between 1967 and 2006, including 21 years in a senior finance management role. He has particular expertise in financial budget planning and accounting, financial systems and processes as well as public–private partnerships. He has over ten years of experience in major capital project procurement, management and delivery. From 2006 to November 2015 he was in private practice, running a finance/project management consultancy, and has worked with several national government agencies and bodies.

Bill Butler CPFA

Bill is an experienced Non-Executive Director and currently sits on the boards of the Law Society, where he chairs the Finance and Investment Committee and sits on the Group Audit Committee and GPDF Ltd, where he chairs the audit committee. He was previously chief executive of the Security Industry Authority for six years and also held senior board positions in finance and audit. He has extensive experience of regulation and strategy, policy and operational delivery. He was admitted as a Chartered Security Professional in 2014.

Paul Fraser CPFA

Paul is currently based in Pristina, Kosovo as Head of Administration and Finance for the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE). Previously he worked for the UN in Jerusalem and in Albania as an advisor to the state police. Whilst in the UK, he held director of finance positions within the NHS and police service, in both Scotland and England.

Philip Geering (Chair)

Philip is a qualified barrister. He was previously Director of Policy at the Crown Prosecution Service and Director of Strategy and Communication at the Independent Police Complaints Commission. He currently holds a appointments within disciplinary/regulatory and similar fields.  

Margaret Sentamu

Margaret is a parish priest in the Church of England, serving four rural churches along the Scottish border. Her background is in recruitment and selection in the private, public and voluntary sectors. Prior to that, she was a freelance leadership development consultant, focusing on diversity in the workplace. She has also worked within a non-executive directorship with the Leeds and York Partnership NHS Mental Health Trust, and as a Lay Adjudicator for the Solicitors Regulatory Authority.

Matt Smith OBE DL JP

Matt currently serves on the ICAS Investigation Committee and, until recently, was a member of the ICAS Regulation Board. He is a Deputy Lieutenant for Ayrshire and Arran. He served as Scottish Secretary of UNISON until 2010, and is a former president of the STUC. He has held a range of non executive roles at the Scottish Police Authority, Scottish Water, the Scottish Standards Commission, and the Scottish Human Rights Commission. He was a member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal, sat as a justice of the peace for over 30 years, and has served on a number of government commissions. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry.

Jason Tucker

Jason is a Professor of Law, based in the School of Law and Politics at Cardiff University. He is qualified as a solicitor, and previously undertook a broad range of litigation work. He is a National Teaching Fellow with extensive experience teaching both undergraduate programmes and the postgraduate courses required for legal practice. He is also a specialist in clinical legal education/pro bono activities. Away from the university, Jason sits as a fee-paid Tribunal Judge (Social Entitlement Chamber) and was previously a magistrate in the adult criminal and family courts from 2007 to 2021. He is also a member of the Law Society's Education and Training Committee and Children Law Sub-committee, and a trustee of The Friendly Society.